Role definition

As I’m the Producer and Editor, I have decided to do some research into what is involved in each of these roles.

Producer:

The producer is often actively involved throughout all major phases of the filmmaking process, from inception and development to completion and delivery of a film project.

I have interpreted this as the Producer has to be organised and ensure we have all the different parts of the process from beginning to end. This suits me to the ground as I am naturally organised and have a great eye for detail, which will really help me in overseeing the whole project.

Editor:

A film or video editor is responsible for assembling raw material into a finished product suitable for broadcasting. The material they work with may consist of raw camera footage, dialogue, sound effects, graphics and special effects. This is a key role in the post-production process and the editor’s skill can determine the quality and delivery of the final product.

I have interpreted this as the person that compiles all raw footage into an end product. I believe I will be able to do this as I am a fast learner especially with software, and if both me and Siobhan, who has done a slight bit of editing before, can combine her skills and my speed this will produce a successful editing process.

