Image Sizes and Upload Preferences

In the design stage I had decided there would be at least three different image sizes.

  • Featured – for the carousel
  • Secondary – for the posts on the first page below the carousel
  • Posts – the image on each individual post.

This meant that I would have to specify to the blogger/user in my channel fields what size image to upload. and then use Expression Engines file image resizer to resize all the images to specific widths or heights and whether to crop or constrain them.

Screen Shot 2013-05-16 at 12.31.01

 

The only thing that annoyed me was that I was unable to put a blurred black and white effect on the featured images as I think this would have added to my circus theme. I investigated that there was various plug-ins that would do this but all of them cost money. I researched quite a few and found CE Image, which looked amazing and can be found at http://www.causingeffect.com/software/expressionengine/ce-image if this was for an actual customer I would definitely have brought this Plug-in. Also CE Image would allow the image be cropped from specific offsets such as top bottom, unlike the built-in expression engine which does it immediately from the center.

