Localhost to Server

I created the website first locally as this is what we did in lessons, and now I felt I was at a point were it was working sufficiently to go live. So I used the following directions: http://ellislab.com/expressionengine/user-guide/operations/moving.html

I wanted to follow this information exactly so it asked me to verify server compatibility, and my 123-reg.co.uk server worked out fine

Screen Shot 2013-05-12 at 17.20.19

So I carried on with the instructions and found that where files were in my server and permissions were extremely important. Then also my server 123-reg.co.uk didn’t provide the exact details of my server path which caused a lot of difficulties, so I ended up running a pathinfo.php which I found from http://www.kbpublisher.com/kb/How-can-I-find-my-Full-server-path_289.html

Now I have learnt maybe in the future once the website is fully designed to just go straight on the server instead of locally. I’m not an extremely technical person, and don’t fully understand servers and hosts, and I think I need to get my head around the basic stuff, so this will be a task I set myself.

 

